Ten Health Professionals Selected for Competitive Health Policy Fellowship Program

National Academy of MedicineWASHINGTON — The Institute of Medicine (IOM) and Robert Wood Johnson Foundation (RWJF) selected ten health professionals to spend a year working in congressional offices with key responsibilities for health legislation and programs as RWJF Health Policy Fellows for 2009-2010.

In addition to assisting policymakers with health-related legislative and policy issues, the fellows will engage in discussions and seminars on developing health policy, and participate in leadership development programs. The experience will enrich their understanding of public-policy practices and increase their skills in participating in that process once they return to their home institutions and communities. After their stay in Washington, D.C., fellows may carry out additional activities with their grant funds to continue their development as health policy leaders.

“This is an exciting year for the fellows to be in Washington, D.C.,” said Marie Michnich, DrPH, director of the RWJF Health Policy Fellows Program at IOM. “Health care and health reform are high on the legislative agenda. The broad range of professional expertise these talented fellows will bring to D.C coupled with their in depth immersion in the political process this year will give the fellows significant opportunities to contribute to shaping today’s health care debate.”

The 2009-2010 fellows are:

  • ANDREW BINDMAN, M.D., professor of medicine, health policy, epidemiology, and biostatistics, University of California, San Francisco
  • GUSTAVO CRUZ, D.M.D., M.P.H., associate professor and director of public health and health promotion, department of epidemiology and health promotion, College of Dentistry, New York University, New York City
  • SHELDON FIELDS, PH.D., R.N., FNP-BC, associate professor, School of Nursing, University of Rochester Medical Center, Rochester, N.Y.
  • DAVID KELLER, M.D., clinical associate professor of pediatrics, University of Massachusetts Medical School, Webster, Mass.
  • JANET LEIGH, B.D.S., D.M.D., chair, department of oral medicine and radiology, and director, LSUHSC HIV Outpatient Dental Clinic, School of Dentistry, Louisiana State University, New Orleans
  • GREGG MARGOLIS, PH.D., NREMT-P, M.S., associate director, National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians, Columbus
  • MARK SCHWARTZ, M.D., associate professor of medicine, School of Medicine, New York University, New York City
  • BARBARA TOBIAS, M.D., associate professor and director, predoctoral medical education, department of family medicine, College of Medicine, University of Cincinnati, Cincinnati, Ohio
  • MARGARET WILMOTH, PH.D., R.N., professor, department of adult health nursing, College of Health and Human Services, University of North Carolina, Charlotte
  • SHALE WONG, M.D., M.S.P.H., associate professor of pediatrics, School of Medicine, University of Colorado, Aurora, Colo.

Established in 1973 at IOM with a grant from RWJF, the fellowship program develops the abilities of outstanding midcareer health professionals in academic and community-based settings by providing them with the ability to work along side those shaping U.S. health care policy. More than 200 fellows from universities, colleges, and community health organizations across the nation have participated in this program.

The fellowship program is funded by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation with direction and technical assistance provided by the Institute of Medicine of the National Academies. Additional information about the RWJF Health Policy Fellows can be found at www.healthpolicyfellows.org. The fellows represent a wide range of academic and community-based experience.

Established in 1970 under the charter of the National Academy of Sciences, the Institute of Medicine provides independent, objective, evidence-based advice to policymakers, health professionals, the private sector, and the public. The National Academy of Sciences, National Academy of Engineering, Institute of Medicine, and National Research Council make up the National Academies.


Christine Stencel, Senior Media Relations Officer
Office of News and Public Information
202-334-2138; e-mail news@nas.edu

# # #