Class of 2019-2020 RWJF Fellows Announced

The National Academy of Medicine (NAM) and Robert Wood Johnson Foundation (RWJF) this week named the 2019-2020 class of RWJF Health Policy Fellows.  Beginning in September, six health professionals will spend a year in Washington, D.C., working on health-related legislative and regulatory issues with members of Congress and the executive branch.

The fellows were chosen in a national competition for highly accomplished health and behavioral/social science professionals who have an interest in health policy.  Their experiences in Washington will enrich their understanding of federal policy formation and how federal and state governments relate to the mission of their home institutions and local communities.  The fellowship program will commence with an intensive three-month orientation, followed by a nine-month assignment in a congressional office or the executive branch, where the fellows will be involved in health-related legislation and policy development.  After their Washington assignment, the fellows will continue to receive support to sustain their development as health policy leaders.

“This is a very important time in federal health policy, and the decisions made over the next year will impact the health of people in this country for years to come,” said Gregg Margolis, director of the RWJF Health Policy Fellows Program at the NAM.  “We are proud to bring these six exceptional and accomplished professionals to Washington, D.C., to participate in the policy process.  Their deep, practical experience in health care, public health, and research brings ‘real life’ perspectives to improve the health of the nation.”

The 2019-2020 fellows are:

  • Sharron Crowder, Ph.D., R.N., ATSF, clinical associate professor, School of Nursing, Indiana University, Indianapolis
  • Kristen Dillon, M.D., coordinated care organization director and medical director, PacificSource, Hood River, Ore.
  • Charles Mathias, Ph.D., associate professor, department of psychiatry, University of Texas Health Science Center, San Antonio
  • Michelle Morse, M.D., M.P.H., assistant professor, Harvard Medical School/Brigham and Women’s Hospital, Boston; founding co-director, EqualHealth; and co-founder, Social Medicine Consortium
  • Joseph Sakran, M.D., M.P.H., M.P.A., FACS, director of emergency general surgery and assistant professor of surgery, Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore
  • Liliane Windsor, Ph.D., M.S.W., associate professor, School of Social Work, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Urbana

The RWJF Health Policy Fellows program is the nation’s most prestigious learning experience at the nexus of health, science, and policy in Washington, D.C.  Since 1973, this non-partisan fellowship has offered exclusive, hands-on policy experience with the most influential congressional and executive offices in the nation’s capital.  Over 270 fellows from across the nation have worked hand-in-hand with the best and brightest in federal health policy to gain an insider’s perspective of the political process, develop unmatched leadership skills, and build a professional network that lasts a lifetime.  As chancellors and deans at major academic institutions; presidents of professional societies and voluntary health organizations; leaders in local, state and federal government; and experts at think tanks and advocacy groups, fellows transform the nation’s health care policy and practice.  For more information, visit

For more than 45 years, the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation has worked to improve health and health care. RWJF is working alongside others to build a national Culture of Health that provides everyone in America a fair and just opportunity for health and well-being.  For more information, visit  Follow the Foundation on Twitter at or on Facebook at

Press release source: here.